Punahou Defends Team Titles at Hawaii State Championships; KS Kapalama Boys Break Relay Record 

Photo Courtesy: Punahou Swim Team Twitter (@PunahouSwim)

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on SwimmingWorld.com. For more information about Agon, visit their website?AgonSwim.com.?National Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

The 2019 Hawaii Swimming and Diving Championships were held at K. Mark Takai Veterans Memorial Aquatic Center in Maipahu, ‘Oahu on Saturday, Feb. 9.

Punahou High School swept the team titles; the boys earned their sixth-straight crown will the girls won for the fifth-consecutive year. The meet was highlighted by Kamehameha Schools Kapalama’s breaking the Hawaii state record in the boys’ 4×50 medley relay.

Click here for full results.

Girls Meet

Top 5 Team Scores:

1. Punahou – 46
2. Kaiser – 36
3. Kamehameha Schools Kapalama – 32
4. Kalani – 19
5. Waiakea – 13

Kaiser’s 4×50 medley relay, consisting of Erin Patterson (31.23), Mari Yasumi (26.98), Sophia Harrison (25.14), and Sofia Carlson (23.30), began the meet by taking first with a time of 1:46.65. Carlson then went on to place first in the 50 free (23.84) and the 100 free (51.53).

Waiakea’s Mina Poppas, a Vermont commit, took gold in the 200 free with a time of 1:51.73, followed closely by Maui’s Jordynn Brown with a time of 1:51.98. University Laboratory School’s freshman Grace Monahan placed first in both the 200 IM (2:02.42) and the 100 fly (53.79).

Kamehameha Schools Kapalam’s Jamy Lum won the 500 free with a time of 4:49.40. Lum’s teammate Shaye Story also broke the five-minute barrier to grab second place with a time of 4:59.75.

Punahou defended their state title in the 4×50 free relay as the team of Erika Howell (25.38), Chanel Ng (24.88), Josie Mobley (24.76), and Nohea Lileikis (24.29) clocked in at 1:39.31. Their teammate Emma Ng Pack scored 408.70 total points on the 1-meter diving board to win the gold.

Le Jardin Academy sophomore Alana Barthel won the 100 back with a time of 56.58. Hawaii Preparatory Academy senior and future USC Trojan Maile Lawson won gold in the 100 breast with a time of 1:03.89, followed closely by Lum with a time of 1:04.08.

Kaiser dropped five seconds from their prelims time in the 4×100 relay as the squad Carlson (52.01), Patterson (54.48), Yasumi (53.71), and Harrison (52.41) to win first with a combined time of 3:32.61.

Boys Meet

Top 5 Team Scores:

1. Punahou – 66
2. Kamehameha Schools Kapalama – 48
3. Kalani – 21
4. Iolani – 17
5. Mililani – 15

Kamehameha Schools Kapalama’s 4×50 medley relay team consisting of Devin Alejado (24.54), Jaek Horner (24.70), Kanoa Sawai (21.72), and Noa Copp (20.64) finished first with a time of 1:31.60, beating the previous state record of 1:34.46 set by Maryknoll in 2014.

The same group of boys later won the 4×50 freestyle relay: Alejado (22.31) Copp (21.00), Horner (20.45) and Sawai (20.74) posted a final time of 1:24.50, inches off their own 2013 state record of 1:24.26. Horner also won the 100 breast in 54.52, just off the state record of 54.40.

Mid-Pacific Institute senior and last year’s winner of the 200 IM Michael Petrides opted to the 200 free this year, and it paid off: he won by over five seconds with a time of 1:35.32, while Horner won the 200 IM with a time of 1:52.25. Petrides, who is headed to Cal this fall, added another gold medal in the 500 free with a time of 4:34.18.

Kaiko Hokama-Decker of Kalani High School won the 50 free with a time of 21.13, followed closely behind by Punahou’s Tyler Kawakami in 21.15. Kawakami then took first in the 100 free with a time of 46.18 while Hokama-Decker took third with a 46.43. Denison Piosalan of Saint Louis School earned a silver medal with a time of 46.33.

Sawai won the 100 fly and was the only swimmer in the field to break 50 seconds, doing so with a time of 49.42. Sophomore Noah Peters of Punahou won the 100 back in 52.78 while Ethan Buck of Iolani School won the one-meter diving with a total of 368.75 points.

Shortly after, Peters’ relay squad of Kawakami (45.94), Peters (46.94), Josh Nekoba (48.66) and Jaesun Lee (47.49), sailed into first place in the 4×100 free relay, winning by nearly ten seconds with a final time of 3:09.33.

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
3 years ago

Who won the mens 100 breaststroke?

3 years ago

Horner, written closer to the top of the boys article cause he was a part of the medley relay