Kibler, Whitley Among Top Seeds at Day 4 Prelims of Winter Juniors East

Photo Courtesy: Competitor

Drew Kibler, Reece Whitley, and Isabel Ivey grab top seeds to set themselves up for additional championship golds at the fourth and final day of the 2016 Speedo Winter Junior Championships East.

Women’s 200 Back:

Alex Walsh of Nashville Aquatic Club turned in the top qualifying time in prelims of the women’s 200 backstroke. Walsh stopped the clock at a 1:55.13 to return in lane four for tonight’s finals.

Marlins of Raleigh’s Madison Homovich took second in prelims with a time of 1:56.12, followed closely by SwimMAC’s Julia Menkhaus’ 1:56.57.

Abigail Wilder of the Bolles School qualified fourth overall with a 1:56.61, while Ridgefield Aquatics’ Marcella Maguire took sixth with a 1:56.88.

SwimMac’s Sinclair Larson (1:56.95), Marlins of Raleigh’s Kathleen Moore (1:57.13), and SwimMAC’s Stephanie Nelson (1:57.21) return as sixth through eighth.

Men’s 200 Back:

Clark Beach of Quest Swimming posted the top time of the morning in the men’s 200 backstroke, finishing with a time of 1:43.36.

Pleasantville’s Destin Lasco grabbed the second place seed with a 1:44.63, followed by Zachary Poti’s 1:45.04.

Nicolas Albiero of Cardinal Aquatics qualified fourth with a 1:45.55, while Delaware Swim Team’s Jacob Johnson was fifth with a 1:45.78.

Cincinnati Marlins’ Justin Grender, Quest Swimming’s Ethan Beach (1:46.24), and Ridgefield Aquatics’ Kieran Smith (1:46.39) rounded out the top eight.

Women’s 100 Free:

Isabel Ivey of Gator Swim Club set herself up for another championship gold medal with the top qualifying time in prelims of the women’s 100 free. Ivey posted a 48.60 to be the only swimmer beneath the 49-second mark.

Greater Tampa’s Morgan Tankersley flirted with a sub-49 second swim, stopping the clock at a 49.01 for the second place seed, while Carmel’s Kelly Pash took third in prelims with a time of 49.79.

Teammate Gertrude Rothrock picked up the fourth place seed with a time of 49.98, followed by Southwest Stars’ Kaitlyn Schorr (50.01).

Condors Swim Club’s Christiana Regenauer (50.08), Carmel’s Emma Nordin (50.14), and South Florida’s Kathleen Golding (50.14) completed the top eight qualifiers.

Men’s 100 Free:

Drew Kibler of Carmel put himself within range of the 15-16 NAG record of the 100 free with a top qualifying time of 42.99. The current NAG record is a 42.67 set in 2013 by Ryan Hoffer.

John Walker of SwimMAC picked up the second place seed with a time of 43.96, followed by Mississippi Makos’ Blaise Vera’s 44.33.

The Bolles School’s Willie Davis grabbed the fourth place seed with a time of 44.45, just ahead of a tie between Zionsville’s Jack Franzman and Bolles’ Ariel Spektor. The two posted matching times of 44.50.

Andrew Loy of Ohio State and Cody Bybee of Dayton Raiders were seventh and eighth with qualifying times of 44.57 and 44.65.

Women’s 200 Breast:

Nashville Aquatic Club’s Allison Raab took the top seed with a time of 2:11.31, followed closely by Lakeside’s Brooke Forde (2:11.60) and Nashville Aquatic Club’s Ella Nelson (2:11.71).

Ashley McCauley of Marlins of Raleigh posted a 2:12.04 to qualify fourth, just ahead of SwimMAC’s Jane Donahue’s 2:12.19.

Marlins of Raleigh’s Abigail Arens (2:13.32), Y- Spartaquatics’ Sydney Baker (2:13.57), and Cardinal Community’s Emily Weiss (2:13.88) were sixth through eighth.

Men’s 200 Breast:

Reece Whitley of Penn Charter topped the competition in prelims of the men’s 200 breaststroke, stopping the clock at a 1:55.23. Whitley, 16, is the current NAG record holder in the event with a 1:53.66 from 2015.

Mason Manta Rays’ Jacob Foster took the second place seed with a 1:58.58, followed by Delaware Swim Team’s Matthew Otto’s 1:59.69.

Andrew Bornstein, swimming unattached, turned in a 1:59.72 for fourth, just ahead of Crimson Aquatics’ Calvin Yang and his time of 2:00.27.

Bolles’ Paul Degrado (2:00.29), Lakeside’s Keefer Barnum (2:00.81), and Dynamo’s Jonathan Yang (2:00.86) posted sixth through eighth place finishes.

Women’s 200 Fly:

Olivia Carter of Enfinity Aquatics touched first in prelims of the women’s 200 fly with a 1:56.27, followed by a trio of 1:58’s.

Highlander Aquatics’ Carley Lowe grabbed the second place seed with a 1:58.61, just ahead of Dynamo’s Jade Foelske (1:58.71) and SwimMAC’s Julia Menkhaus (1:58.98).

Tristen Ulett of Dynamo Swim Club took fifth in prelims with a 1:59.16, while Asheville’s Mary Soule was sixth with a 1:59.28.

Lakeside’s Brooke Forde and SwimAtlanta’s Devan Sweeney completed the top eight qualifiers with times of 1:59.57 and 1:59.63 respectively.

Men’s 200 Fly:

Michigan Lakeshore’s Spencer Carl took the first place seed in prelims of the men’s 200 fly with a time of 1:44.93, while Cardinal Aquatics’ Nicolas Albiero touched second with a 1:45.10.

Mason Wilby of Gator Swim Club was third in prelims with a time of 1:46.77, followed by Soundview YMCA’s Corey Gambardella’s 1:46.89.

Marlins of Raleigh’s Zachary Brown (1:47.33), Delaware’s Jacob Johnson (1:47.41), Memphis Thunder’s John McCaghren (1:47.42), and Baylor’s Peter Lochmaier (1:47.53) were sixth through eighth.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x