2016 Arena Pro Swim Series Money List: Katie Ledecky Pushes Top Tally to 55 Points

katie-ledecky-2016-austin-apss (3)
Photo Courtesy: Soobum Im-USA TODAY Sports

Arena Pro Swim Series editorial coverage is proudly sponsored by Arena USA. Visit ArenaUSA.com for more information on our sponsor. For all the latest coverage, check out our event coverage page.

With the Charlotte stop of the 2016 Arena Pro Swim Series complete, Katie Ledecky still easily has the most points among all swimmers even without competing this weekend.

Ledecky, however, will turn down the cash and prizes to remain eligible for Stanford after she finishes her deferred year of training for the 2016 Rio Olympics.

The women’s top three race did not change at all with the top three swimmers not in Charlotte.  Ledecky has 55 points, while Maya DiRado (40) and Missy Franklin (31) remained second and third.  Cammile Adams made a run to fourth with 28 points total.

Conor Dwyer overtook the men’s race as the only top male swimmer earning points in Charlotte.  He ran his leading tally to 45 points.  Nathan Adrian remained second with 40 points, while Michael Phelps held third with 35 points.  Neither Adrian nor Phelps were in Charlotte.

This year, the Arena Pro Swim Series will give out nearly $350,000.

The per-event prize money and Arena Pro Swim Series scoring system awards swimmers prize money  and points based on first-, second-, and third-place performances at each meet in the Championship final only. The prize money and scoring system is as follows:

  • First place = $1,000 (five points)
  • Second place = $600 (three points)
  • Third place = $200 (one point)

There will be separate Arena Pro Swim Series standings for male and female swimmers. To be eligible for the BMW lease, a swimmer must (i) be a U.S. citizen, (ii) be a USA Swimming member, (iii) possess a valid U.S. driver’s license, and (iv) no longer be NCAA eligible. The BMW prize will be offered to the highest finishing eligible male and female athlete who meets all the criteria, even if he/she is not the overall points winner for the series.

To be eligible for the $10,000 series bonus, awarded to the overall male and female winners of the Series regardless of nationality, athletes must no longer be NCAA eligible.

In the event of a tie of Arena Pro Swim Series points, the Arena Pro Swim Series winner will be the swimmer who earned the highest single-race FINA power point ranking.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x