Punahou Sweeps Hawaii HS Titles; Three State Records Fall

Photo Courtesy: Punahou Swim Team (@PunahouSwim)

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on SwimmingWorld.com. For more information about Agon, visit their website?AgonSwim.com.?National Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on SwimmingWorld.com. For more information about Agon, visit their website AgonSwim.com.

Punahou swept the 2018 Hawaii high school swimming and diving state championships, winning both the girls and the boys’ meets by a significant margin.

The girls scored 66 points to Baldwin High’s 40. The Punahou boys scored 67 points while Mid-Pacific Institute totaled 37 points.


Punahou went one-two in diving with Emma Ng Pack (363.80) and Elena Yuen (361.75).

Baldwin won the first relay, a half second ahead of Punahou. Rebecca Buenrostro GallimorKaimilani MatsumotoBailey Augustine, and Kylie Carter went a 1:48.22 while Alexa PhillipsLyra GonzalezTori Gacutan, and Erika Howell touched in 1:48.76.

Punhaou’s Sydnee Whitty won the 200 free in 1:50.69, just faster than Kysha Altura (1:50.96) from Maui Preparatory Academy. Whitty also won the 100 free in 51.18.

Relay breaststroke leg Matsumoto of Baldwin won the 200 IM with a 2:04.87.

King’s Aniston Eyre topped the 50 free with a 23.69 while Buenrostro Gallimor was runner up in 24.21 and Phillips took third in 24.41. Eyre was second in the 100 free (52.16). Buenrostro Gallimor won the 100 backstroke with a 57.17.

Lahainaluna’s Lexi Anderson touched in 54.85 to win the 100 fly by three and a half seconds. Altura (58.23) took silver and Gacutan (58.49) bronze.

Seabury Hall’s Jasmine O’Brien cracked five minutes to win the 500 free in 4:59.70. In 1:02.51 Maile Lawson earned 100 breaststroke gold.

Whitty, Channel Ng, Phillips, and Gactucan won the 200 freestyle relay for Punahou in 1:36.61. Philips, Whitty, Ng, and Nohea Lileikis set a new state record to end the meet, racing to a 3:29.35 in the 400 freestyle relay, under the team’s own mark of 3:30.33 set in 2014.


Sean KwonJason HiremathRay Sakamotoand Jake Gaughan won the 200 medley relay for Punahou in 1:34.67.

Allen Hayakawa, a senior at Mid-Pacific Institute won the 200 free in 1:43.08. His teammate Michael Petrides set a new state record en route to 200 IM gold. The junior touched in 1:48.73. Petrides also won the 100 freestyle with a 44.36.

Roosevelt senior Joseph Ahia won the 50 freestyle in 21.11. Punahou duo Noah Peters (21.35) and Josh Nekoba (21.56) followed. Ahia also won the 100 butterfly, with a 50.26. Kamehameha Schools Kapalamas’ Kanoa Sawai was runner up in 50.69. His teammate Jaek Horner won the 100 breaststroke with a 56.48.

Kalani senior DH Hwang stopped the clock in 4:32.17 to win the 500 freestyle.

In 1:26.52 Peters, Gaughan, Ethan Bosworth, and Sean Kwon won the 200 freestyle relay for Punahou. Peters also won the 100 back in 51.60 while Kwon was second in 52.77.

The Punahou boys also set a state record in the 400 freestyle relay, with a time of 3:06.01, faster than the 3:06.69 set by KS-Kapalama in 2013. That team was Tyler Kawakami, Peters, Nekoba, and Gaughan.

Full results

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
4 years ago