NCAA Division III Swimming and Diving Championships: Denison, Emory Lead After Day Two; Handful of NCAA Division III Records Fall

Visit Swimming World's Event Landing Page for complete coverage of the meet. Click Here

By Jaclyn Luscomb

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, March 22. THE Thursday swims of the 2012 NCAA Division III Men's and Women's Swimming and Diving Championships proved to be just as exciting as the day before with two more broken records and repeat champions.

The afternoon session began with the men's 200-yard freestyle relay. The Kenyon College team of David Somers, Zachary Turk, Ian Richardson and Curtis Ramsey won the event in time of 1:18.22. All four swimmers splitting under 20 seconds with Turk swimming an incredible leg with a split of 18.78. The Kenyon team was slightly slower than its preliminary time of 1:18.06; which shattered the two-year-old NCAA DIII record of 1:19.05 also held by Kenyon. Emory University came in second with a time of 1:20.93 while the University of Wisconsin Stevens Point finished third with a time of 1:21.10.

On the women's side the championship title went to the team of Renee Rosenkranz, Anna Dobben, Ann Wolber, and Claire Pavlak from Emory University with a time of 1:32.38. Denison University finished second (1:33.21) while Kenyon College trailed in at third (1:33.88).

The 400 IM proved exciting as well with both the men and women's champions representing Williams College. On the men's side, Williams junior Paul Dyrkacz took the championship title with a time of 3:51.90. Dyrkacz was a full five seconds faster than his preliminary time at which he was seeded sixth for finals. Second place went to Allen Weik, a sophomore from Denison University, who won the 500 freestyle last night. Weik placed second with a time of 3:54.02. Miller Douglas, a junior from Emory University, took third (3:55.55).

Caroline Wilson, a junior out of Williams College, picked up the title in the women's 400 IM with a winning time of 4:13.14. Not only is Wilson a repeat champion after winning the 500 freestyle last night, but she also broke her own 2011 NCAA DIII record in the event, which was a time of 4:13.90. Michelle Howell, a freshman from Denison University, finished second with a time of 4:19.64. while Emily Schroeder, a senior from Denison, finished third with a time of 4:20.25.

The 2012 men's 100 butterfly championship title went to Patrick Augustyn, a senior from Emory University, who won in a time of 48.22. Robert Barry, a Denison senior, placed second (48.32), while Wyatt Ubellacker, a junior from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, placed third with a time of 48.53.

Logan Todhunter, a senior from Williams College, won the women's 100 butterfly for the fourth consecutive year with a time of 53.04. Todhunter holds the NCAA record in the event and was last night's champion in the women's 200 Individual Medley. Second place went to Christie Raleigh, a junior from Rowan University, (53.92), while Hannah Saiz, a senior from Kenyon University, finished third (55.00).

The men's 200 freestyle ended in a tie between seniors Jordan Degayner of Colorado College and Tyler Harp from the University of Redlands. The men won in a time of 1:37.51. Both swimmers came back in the last 50 yards to touch out Kenyon senior Zachary Turk, who finished third with a time of 1:37.66.

Sarah Thompson, a freshman from Williams College, won the women's 200 freestyle with a time of 1:50.27. Thompson was second in the 500 freestyle last night behind her teammate Caroline Wilson. Whitney Taylor, a senior from Emory University, finished second (1:50.44), while Hilary Callen, a senior from Denison University, finished third (1:50.68).

Both men's and women's 400 medley relays broke the standing NCAA records. The men's winning relay team of Robert Barry, Damon Rosenburg, Spencer Fronk and Michael Barczak from Denison University won with a time of 3:15.09, breaking Kenyon's 2011 record of 3:15.35. Second place went to the Redwings with a time of 3:17.39, and Emory finished third with a time of 3:17.55.

The women's 400 medley relay team of Sarah Thompson, Caroline Wilson, Logan Todhunter, and Carolyn Geller of Williams College won the event in a time of 3:42.21 breaking the NCAA DIII record (3:42.21) set by Emory University last year. Kenyon University finished second with a time of 3:43.49, while Emory finished third (3:45.74).

TCNJ's Danica Roskos won the women's one-meter diving title with 450.60 points, while BWC's Julie Pinter placed second with 448.75 points. SPRI's Jennifer Thompson took third with 443.55 points.

Team standings at the halfway point of the meet are as follows:

On the men's side Denison is leading with 290 points, Kenyon is in second, close behind with 287 points and Emory is third with 198 points. On the women's side Emory is leading with 316 points, Williams is in second with 261 points and Denison is currently ranked third with 230 points.

Editorial coverage of all NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships is brought to you by our sponsor Colorado Time Systems.

Share and Tweet This Story
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial