Michael Lanz Breaks Meet Record at MIAC

Arena Pro Swim Series Minnesota
Photo Courtesy: Maddy Olson

By Emma Foster, Swimming World College Intern 

Michael Lanz of St. Thomas had a record breaking finals session on the second night of the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Championships. In the 100 fly, he posted a 47.97 to break his own Meet record of 48.21 set in 2014. Stephen Grinich of Carleton followed in 49.11, while Nick Cox of St. Thomas was third in 50.32.

In the 800 free relay, St. Thomas’s team of Strauss (1:53.80), Paulson (1:5.56), Alex Howard (1:54.79), and Mira Schroeder (1:55.91) won the event in a MIAC Record, beating St. Olaf’s previous record of 7:36.72 by posting a time of 7:36.06. They were followed by Gustavus who were second in 7:40.77 and St. Olaf who claimed the bronze in 7:44.25.

In the women’s 100 fly, Kathleen Reilly of Gustavus won the event in 56.67. Claire Walter was second in 57.28, while Haley Cassens of St. Thomas was third in 57.55.

In the women’s 200 medley relay, St. Olaf’s team of Kelly Punyko (27.20) Megan Gaylord (29.16) Claire Walters (25.49) and Abbey Schnaith (23.65) won the event in 1:45.50. They just out touched Gustavus by 4-hundredths, who claimed silver in 1:45.54. St. Thomas was third in 1:46.09.

On the men’s side, St. Thomas’s team of Tom Osmolak (23.62) Maxwell Hamilton (25.35) Lanz (21.71) and Luke Schneeman (20.95) won in 1:31.63. Carleton followed in 1:32.02, while St. John’s was third in 1:33.04.

In the 400 IM, Haley Booher of Gustavus claimed the event on the women’s side, posting a swift 4:30.49. Nicole Herrli of St. Thomas was second in 4:32.23, while teammate Washenberger was third in 4:33.63.

Chris Tri of St. Thomas won the men’s 400 IM in a time of 4:06.40. Teammate Walke Matthew was second in 4:07.99, while Alex Mathson of Carleton was third in 4:09.48.

In the 200 free, Maddie Lee of St. Olaf dropped nearly 2 seconds from her morning swim to maintain her top seed, winning in 1:52.49. Leah Anderson of Gustavus was second in 1:53.91, while Alex Howard of St. Thomas was third in 1:54.35.

For the men, Warren Melton of St. Thomas won the event in 1:40.44, almost two seconds ahead of teammate  Schneeman who was 1:42.23. Hodd Forman of Hamline was third in 1:43.72.

In the 100 breast, Megan Gaylord of St. Olaf claimed the event in 1:05.17. Melissa Rose of St. Thomas was 1:06.08 for second, while teammate Molly Peichel was third in 1:06.53.

Nicholas Wilkerson of St. Olaf claimed the men’s 100 breast title in 56.03, followed by Maxwell Hamilton of St. Thomas who was 56.52, while Tanner Soonek of Gustavus was third in 56.69.

Emma Paulson of St. Thomas won the 100 back in 54.61 which broke her own MIAC Record of 54.86 set in 2015. Maria Wetzel of Carleton was second in 57.61, while Kate Smarjesse of St. Thomas was third in 58.20.

Tom Osmolak of St. Thomas won the men’s 100 back in 50.27, out touching Schwarzkopf who posted a 50.72. Tom Negaard of St. Thomas was third in 51.58.

In the women’s 3-mtr diving finals, Courtney Miller of St. Olaf won the event with 427.65  points. She was followed by Jenna Nagy of St. Catherine who was second wit 389.85 points, while Nightingale of St. Thomas was third with 378.80 points.

The MIAC Championships will conclude tomorrow evening.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x