Daniel Comforti Wins Tight 100 Breast Final At Night Three Of Roseville Sectionals

Photo Courtesy: Taylor Brien

The third night of competition at Roseville featured a slew of athletes grabbing individual titles and tight races in the 100’s.

Alexandra Crisera jumped ahead of the competition in the women’s 200 back to start the night off with a bang, finishing more than two seconds ahead of the competition with a final 2:16.70. Finishing second overall was Zoe Cosgrove with a 2:18.87, just ahead of Paige Maynard’s 2:19.29.

On the men’s side it was Shayne Fleming posting the fastest time at a 2:05.58 in the 200 back. Steven Medvedev and Michael Tenney kept it close for second and third with times of 2:06.23 and 2:06.49 respectively.

The women’s 400 free was led by Chenoa Devine, who shaved 5.71 seconds off her prelims time of 4:23.94 to finish the race with a 4:18.23. Picking up second was McKenna Meyer with a 4:19.88, 3.79 seconds faster than her prelims time of 4:23.67. Mike Thompson was third with a 4:22.25.

Daniel Ilin of outlasted the competition in the men’s 400 free with a 4:04.87, shaving 3.13 seconds off her prelims swim of 4:08.00. Jordan Blitz touched second with a 4:06.36, while Tom Schab grabbed third with a 4:07.19.

Surging ahead of the competition in the women’s 100 breast was Riley Scott of with a 1:09.50. Keeping a close race for second and third was Morganne McKenna (1:11.38) and Jacqueline Basham (1:12.52).

The men’s 100 breast was highlighted by a tight battle for first. Touching a shy .01 seconds apart at the halfway mark Daniel Comforti and Darren Chan Chin Wah sprinted towards the finish with each slashing more than two seconds off their prelims swim. Comforti got his hand to the wall first with a 1:04.13 just ahead of Chin Wah’s 1:04.30. Third was picked up by teammate Keven Shang’s 1:05.16.

The close swims continued into the women’s 100 fly with the top three finishers posting times .18 seconds apart. The gold went to Catherine Sanchez and her time of 1:00.30. Teammates Kenisha Liu and Alexis Margett stopped the clock at 1:00.41 and 1:00.48 respectively.

Emilio DeSomma snuck in a sub-56 100 fly on the men’s side to claim the win with a 55.14. Kenneth Castro-Abrams and Tenney turned in similar times of 56.41 and 56.46 for second and third respectively.


  1. avatar
    Kathryn Meinhardt

    Amy Ruth Baer Comforti WOW!!!! Go Danny!

  2. avatar
    Amy Ruth Baer Comforti

    Thank you Kathryn Meinhardt for sharin, Im working in a cave and havent talked to him, lol

  3. avatar
    Amy Ruth Baer Comforti

    Jan Baer Joyce Hunter

  4. avatar
    Laura Vitsut

    Elisabeth Viiding need pukkid ple just kyll kõige parimad