Cam McEvoy Clocks New All Comers Record at Day 1 of Aussie SC Champs

Photo Courtesy: Delly Carr / Swimming Australia Ltd.

The 2016 Australian Short Course Championships kicked off in Brisbane with day one witnessing a successful return to racing from many of Australia’s finest.

After a known heart condition resulted in Kyle Chalmers withdrawing from the men’s 100 free final, the field was highlighted by Bond’s Cameron McEvoy. McEvoy delivered a 46.19 to win the title and overturn the previous All Comers record of 46.29. The previous record was set in 2009 by Matthew Abood.

Somerset’s Tommaso D’Orsogna posted second with a 46.63, followed by Brayden McCarthy and his time of 47.32. McCarthy has recently begun to make a name for himself on the international scene, posting third place finishes in the 100 free (47.23) and 100 fly (51.24) at the Singapore stop of the World Cup series.

Daniel Smith clocked a 3:41.53 to touch first in the men’s 400 free, shaving 2.94 seconds off his prelims time of 3:44.47. TSS Aquatics’ Joshua Parrish turned in a close 3:42.85 for second, while Miami’s Jacob Vincent rounded out the top three with a 3:45.90.

Olympian Emily Seebohm clinched the title in the women’s 200 backstroke with a 2:01.82, well ahead of second-place finisher Amy Forrester (2:04.78). Kaylee McKeown of USC Spartans touched third with a 2:05.42.

TSS Aquatics turned in a 1-3 finish in finals of the men’s 200 fly with David Morgan claiming the gold with a 1:51.86. Teammate Dom Richardson grabbed third with a 1:55.09, while Nicholas Brown posted a 1:53.28 for second.

Jessica Hansen claimed the gold medal in the women’s 100 breaststroke with a final time of 1:05.25. Pelican Waters’ Tessa Wallace delivered a 1:06.15 for second, followed closely by St. Peters Western’s Georgia Bohl and her time of 1:06.35.

The women’s 100 free final was highlighted by a slew of Olympians. Brittany Elmslie led the charge with a 52.36 for the gold. Madeline Groves and Madison Wilson joined her on the podium with times of 53.10 and 53.19 respectively. Bronte Campbell, the reigning LCM world champion in this event, settled for fourth and a 53.21.

Additional winners for day one:

  • Calypso Sheridan, Brisbane Grammar– women’s 400 IM (4:34.42)
  • Kiah Melverton, TSS Aquatics–women’s 800 free (8:18.21)
  • Daniel Fox, Chandler– men’s 100 free MC (53.20)
  • Lake Patterson, Lawnton– women’s 100 free MC (1:06.62)
  • Taylor Corry, MLCM– women’s 50 free MC (27.99)
  • Mitchell Kilduff, SLCA– men’s 50 free MC (24.72)