Brooke Zeiger Doubles Up, Ian Silverman Downs Another Paralympic American Record

Check out all of the 2013 CeraVe Invitational race videos, features and daily recaps on the 2013 CeraVe Invitational Event Landing Page.

PISCATAWAY, New Jersey, January 13. BLUEFISH put together an excellent final night of swimming at the CeraVe Invitational with quite a few gold medalists by the end of the evening. Meanwhile, NBAC's Paralympic gold medalist Ian Silverman took down his second S10 American record of the meet.

With Olympic gold medalist Katie Ledecky sitting out the event, NBAC's Gillian Ryan smashed the meet record in the women's 1500 free with a swift 16:21.59. That performance lowered the 16:46.92 set by Kirsten Groome back in 206. Germantown's Sierra Schmidt raced to second in 16:55.77, while teammate Emily Erwin claimed third in 17:19.90.

AGUA's Olympian Lia Neal nearly tracked down Katie Hoff's meet record in the women's 100 free with a 56.32. That just missed Hoff's 56.00 from the 2007 edition of this meet. Runge (56.61), Ryan (57.28) and Mary Pelton (57.60) went 2-3-4 for NBAC, Hoff's former training location prior to moving to California, then Florida.

BlueFish's Brooke Zeiger broke through to the top of the podium with a 2:36.95 in the women's 200 breast for the win, while NBAC's Lauren James (2:37.59) and Jordan Surhoff (2:42.25) touched second and third to round out the podium. BlueFish's Anthony Marcantonio followed with a one-second triumph in the men's 200 breast when he clocked a 2:26.09. Long Island's Delaney Hall finished second in 2:27.09, while AGUA's David Diaz earned third in 2:28.27. NCAP's Carsten Vissering posted a 2:26.87 to lead prelims on getaway day for the DC-based team.

Zeiger then doubled up with a 2:14.49 in the women's 200 back, downing Delaware's Kaitlyn Jones (2:16.11) by more than a second in the process. NBAC's Cierra Runge raced to third in 2:17.67. BlueFish earned another gold when Connor Green touched in 2:04.56 in the men's 200 back. NBAC's Jason Ewart finished second in 2:07.86, while Connor Kalisz wound up third in 2:08.52.

Peddie's Patrick Park held AGUA's Michael Domagala from a seventh meet title with a 52.28 to 52.69 victory in the men's 100 free. Delaware's Matt Stasiunas touched third in 53.12. Paralympic gold medalist Ian Silverman of NBAC placed eighth with a 55.62 after clocking a 55.05 in prelims. That swim just missed his S10 Paralympic American record of 54.68 from the London Paralympics.

AGUA's Isla Hutchinson-Maddox dominated the women's 200 fly finale with a 2:17.23, while Long Island's Trudiann Patrick placed second in 2:21.50. EEX's Hannah Matheson wound up third in 2:22.50. NBAC's Cole Buese finished in 2:05.34 in the men's 200 fly, while Green took second in 2:06.42 and NBAC's Trevor Hine earned third in 2:10.96.

Delaware's Matt Stasiunas raced to the men's 1500 free title in 16:15.70. Meanwhile, BlueFish's Grant Casey (16:19.95) and Scarlet's Bobby Hilzen (16:23.33) completed the podium. Silverman picked up fifth in 16:34.01, just clipping his Paralympic American record of 16:34.70 from a meet in Baltimore in July.

NBAC's Cierra Runge, Mary Pelton, Porshe Brown and Gillian Ryan set the meet record in the women's 400 free relay with a 3:51.17, downing the NBAC effort of 3:51.67 from 2006 that including the likes of Hoff and Felicia Lee. NBAC also won the men's 400 free relay as Henry Stephens, Silverman, Kalisz and Buese posted a 3:36.27 for the win.