Andrew Wilson, Abbey Weitzeil, Santo Condorelli Shine During LCM Portion of American Short Course Championships

Photo Courtesy: Peter Bick

The American Short Course Championships this year featured a long course meter portion during the first two days before transitioning to short course yards the final two days.

Several world-ranked times went up on the scoreboard during the first two days.

Andrew Wilson vaulted to second in the world with a 59.91 in prelims of the men’s 100-meter breast before winning the finale in 1:00.40.  Only Yasuhiro Koseki has been faster with a 59.67 from the Konami Open.

Wilson won his second race of the LCM portion of the meet with a 2:14.38 in the men’s 200-meter breast after posting a 2:13.52 in prelims.

Canyons’ Abbey Weitzeil blitzed the women’s 50-meter free in a time of 24.72.  That swim jumped her to sixth in the world rankings.  Weitzeil also vaulted to sixth in the women’s 100-meter free with a time of 53.77.

Canyons’ Santo Condorelli churned out a ninth-ranked time of 22.24 to win the men’s 50-meter free. Condorelli claimed the men’s 100-meter free in a time of 49.00 to move to ninth in the world. Condorelli’s third win pushed him to 18th in the men’s 100-meter fly with a 52.88.

Jessica Hardy moved to 11th in the world rankings in the women’s 100-meter breast with a 1:07.65 from prelims before winning in 1:07.74.

Meanwhile, Canyons’ Stanzi Moseley snared the women’s 200-meter free title with a 2:01.35 after posting a 2:01.21 in prelims.

Aquazot’s Eva Merrell topped the women’s 100-meter back in 1:02.11. Merrell also won the 100-meter fly in 59.86.

Aquazot’s Katie Glavinovich won the women’s 400-meter IM in a time of 4:49.18. Glavinowich doubled up with a time of 2:15.50 in the women’s 200-meter back.

NCAP’s Kaitlin Pawlowicz captured the women’s 800-meter free in 8:46.42, while Texas’ Maggie D’Innocenzo touched in 2:15.11 to win the women’s 200-meter fly.

Rice’s Marie-Claire Schillinger won the women’s 200-meter breast in 2:30.65, while Rice’s Anniina Ala-Seppala claimed the women’s 400-meter free in 4:23.07.

Boulder City’s Abby Richter took the women’s 200-meter IM in 2:17.54.

Additionally, Texas’ Ian Lemaistre won the men’s 100-meter back in 55.75. Lemaistre also won the men’s 200-meter back in 2:02.88.

The Woodlands’ Michael McBroom took home the men’s 200-meter free in 1:49.71. McBroom doubled up with a 15:09.60 to move to sixth in the world rankings in the men’s 1500-meter free.

Aquazot’s Danny Yos claimed the men’s 400-meter IM in 4:29.81, while Aquazot’s Chris Taber snagged the men’s 200-meter fly in 2:02.56 after posting 2:02.20 in prelims.

Golden West’s Michael Brinegar topped the men’s 400-meter free in 3:58.55 after clocking a 3:58.40 in prelims.

Austin’s Matt Willenbring snared the men’s 200-meter IM in 2:05.33.