USC’s Vlad Morozov Keys 400 Free Relay Win; Michigan Earns Unprecedented 12th Team Title

Editorial coverage sponsored by SpeedoUSA

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, March 30. SOUTHERN California completed history in a variety of ways with a win in the 400-yard freestyle relay at the NCAA Division Men's Championships.

USC's Cristian Quintero (42.81), Dimitri Colupaev (42.23), Jack Wagner (43.01) and Vlad Morozov (40.28) raced to victory in 2:48.33. That's the first time ever that five different schools won each of the relays as Auburn (200 free), Arizona (400 medley), Michigan (200 medley), Florida (800 free) and USC (400 free) each brought home a relay title. Morozov also clocked the fastest freestyle split in history.

The win gave USC its eighth 400 free relay NCAA title in history. Previous wins came in 1960, 1966, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1976 and 1977. Those squads including illustrious swimmers such as Roy Saari, Frank Heckl, Joe Bottom and John Naber.

Michigan's Miguel Ortiz (42.80), Zack Turk (42.16), Sean Fletcher (42.87) and Bruno Ortiz (42.35) put an exclamation point on the Wolverines' first team title since 1995 as Big Blue clocked a 2:50.18 for second. Auburn's Marcelo Chierighini (42.06), James Disney-May (42.23), Arthur Mendes (43.56) and Kyle Owens (42.69) snared third in 2:50.54.

Louisville (2:50.98), Stanford (2:51.16), Texas (2:51.50), Florida (2:51.74) and Arizona (2:52.81) made up the rest of the championship heat. California turned in a B final victory in 2:52.28.

Michigan won its first NCAA title since 1995, when Jon Urbanchek led the Wolverines to victory over Stanford, 561-475, here at the IU Natatorium at IUPUI. The win gave Mike Bottom his first career coaching title, and broke a tie with Ohio State for the most men's titles in NCAA history. Michigan now stands along with 12 team titles since team titles were first awarded in 1937.

Michigan previously won titles in 1937, 1938, 1939, 1940, 1941, 1948, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1961 and 1995. Bottom now joins the Mount Rushmore of Michigan coaches that includes Matt Mann, Gust Stager and Urbanchek as coaches to have led the Wolverines to victory.

California, which had won the previous two titles, fell to second behind Michigan, 480-406.5. Arizona (313.5), Southern California (289) and Texas (288) made up the top five.

Florida (285.5), Stanford (282), Auburn (226.5), Indiana (201) and Georgia (163) rounded out the top 10 in the team race.

CSCAA Awards
Diver of the Year: Kristian Ipsen, Stanford
Diving Coach of the Year: Rick Schavone, Stanford
Swimmer of the Year: Kevin Cordes, Arizona
Swimming Coach of the Year: Mike Bottom, Michigan

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x