Swimming Canada Names 29 Swimmers to Paris Olympic Team

Penny Oleksiak; Photo Courtesy: Michael P. Hall/Swimming Canada

Swimming Canada Names 29 Swimmers to Paris Olympic Team

Swimming Canada concluded its Olympic trials in Toronto this week by naming a 29-member delegation for the Paris Olympics.

The squad includes world record holder Summer McIntosh and leading sprinter Josh Liendo as well as reigning Olympic gold medalist Maggie MacNeil and Canada’s most decorated Olympian in history, Penny Oleksiak.

In all, 13 of the 29 have previous Olympic experience. Six are Olympic medalists, including individual medalists MacNeil, Oleksiak and Kylie Masse. Yuri Kisil, Javier Acevedo, Masse, Taylor Ruck and Sydney Pickrem are all swimming at their third Olympics.

Fifteen of the swimmers have won medals at World Championships, including individual gold medalists McIntosh and Finlay Knox, while 13 medaled at the Pan Am Games this year.

Among the first-timers are 20-year-old Tristan Jankovics and 32-year-old Jeremy Bagshaw. The team also includes Emma Finlin, who will swim in the women’s open water event.

“I am very happy with the make-up of the Swimming Canada Olympic team, the Trials have been a great event and the outcome can be seen with the strength of the team announced,” Swimming Canada High Performance Director John Atkinson said in a press release. “There have been world-class performances from many of our athletes across both male and female events, and that is extremely pleasing from the Trials. The team has quality at the world level in many events and now the focus for all our team members is to prepare for improvement and progression from Trials to Games and be ready for 9 days of competition in the pool in Paris.”

Team Canada at the Paris Olympics

  • Javier Acevedo (Toronto, Ont.)
  • Sophie Angus (Weston, USA)
  • Alex Axon (Newmarket, Ont.)
  • Jeremy Bagshaw (Victoria, B.C.)
  • Julie Brousseau (Ottawa, Ont.)
  • Brooklyn Douthwright (Riverview, N.B.)
  • Emma Finlin (Edmonton, Alta.)
  • Mary-Sophie Harvey (Trois-Rivieres, Que.)
  • Apollo Hess (Lethbridge, Alta.)
  • Patrick Hussey (Beaconsfield, Que.)
  • Tristan Jankovics (Puslinch, Ont.)
  • Ella Jansen (Burlington, Ont.)
  • Ilya Kharun (Montreal, Que.)
  • Yuri Kisil (Calgary, Alta.)
  • Finlay Knox (Okotoks, Alta.)
  • Josh Liendo (Toronto, Ont.)
  • Margaret (Maggie) Mac Neil (London, Ont.)
  • Kylie Masse (Lasalle, Ont.)
  • Summer McIntosh (Toronto, Ont.)
  • Emma O’Croinin (Edmonton, Alta.)
  • Penny Oleksiak (Toronto, Ont.)
  • Sydney Pickrem (Halifax, N.S.)
  • Regan Rathwell (Ashton, Ont.)
  • Taylor Ruck (Kelowna, B.C.)
  • Rebecca Smith (Red Deer, Alta.)
  • Blake Tierney (Saskatoon, Sask.)
  • Lorne Wigginton (Calgary, Alta.)
  • Ingrid Wilm (Calgary, Alta.)
  • Kelsey Wog (Winnipeg, Man.)

Swimming Canada Coaching Staff

  • Brent Arckey (Raleigh, USA) – Coach
  • Greg Arkhurst (Montreal, Que.) – Coach
  • Vlastimil Cerny (Winnipeg, Man.) – Coach
  • Dave Johnson (Calgary, Alta.) – Coach
  • Linda Kiefer (Toronto, Ont.) – Coach
  • Ryan Mallette (Montreal, Que.) – Head Coach
  • Mark Perry (Stittsville, Ont.) – Open Water Coach
  • Scott Talbot (Canberra, Australia) – Coach

Swimming Canada Support Staff

  • John Atkinson (Ottawa, Ont.) – High Performance Director
  • Meghan Buttle (Toronto, Ont.) – Physiotherapist
  • Ron Castro (Toronto, Ont.) – Massage Therapist
  • Jan Hanan (Victoria, B.C.) – Team Manager
  • Iain McDonald (Montreal, Que.) – Assistant High Performance Director
  • Suzanne Moroney (Halifax, N.S) – Massage Therapist
  • Graham Olson (Saskatoon, Sask.) – Performance Analysis
  • Tom Vandenbogaerde (Vancouver, B.C.) – Performance Scientist
  • Nathan White (Fredericton, N.B.) – Media Attaché
Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x