Wolfpack Sweeps 100 Free, Ipsen Repeats as 1650 Champion: Men’s ACC Championships Live Recap

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

By Chandler Brandes, ACC Beat Writer

The final night of the 2016 ACC Men’s Swimming Championships in Greensboro was just as fast as the rest of the weekend. Five meet records, three conference records, and four pool records fell on the last day of competition.

Click here for live results.

1650 Free

NC State’s Anton Ipsen dominated the men’s mile, winning in 14:44.96. This is the sophomore’s second-straight win in the event and his fourth individual ACC title.

1. Anton Ipsen (14:44.96), NC State
2. Adam Linker (14:51.47), NC State
3. Sam Magnan (15:06.45), Virginia

200 Back

Louisville’s Grigory Tarasevich had a strong second half to take the win in 1:39.28 after finishing second in 2015. The junior’s time clipped the meet and conference record of 1:39.37 set by Hennessey Stuart last year.

1. Grigory Tarasevich (1:39.28), Louisville
2. Hennessey Stuart (1:39.58), NC State
3. Justin Ress (1:40.57), NC State

Florida State’s Connor Kalisz won the B-Final in 1:42.17 and Notre Dame’s Bogac Ayhan took the C-Final in 1:44.62.

100 Free

NC State’s Ryan Held led the Wolfpack sweep in a swift 41.69. His time broke the meet and conference record set by his teammate Simonas Bilis this morning. This is the sophomore’s second individual ACC title of the weekend.

1. Ryan Held (41.69), NC State
2. Simonas Bilis (42.16), NC State
3. Soeren Dahl (42.85), NC State

NC State’s Andreas Schiellerup claimed the B-Final in 43.22 and North Carolina’s Logan Heck won the C-Final in 43.47.

200 Breast

Virginia Tech’s Brandon Fiala won in 1:52.87 after finishing fifth in the event last year. His time clipped his own meet record he set this morning by .09 and also set a new pool record. This is the junior’s second individual ACC title of the weekend.

1. Brandon Fiala (1:52.87), Virginia Tech
2. Yannick Kaeser (1:53.41), Virginia
3. Carlos Claverie (1:53.77), Louisville

Georgia Tech’s Alexander Kimpel crushed the B-Final in 1:55.98 and North Carolina’s Dalton Shaw won the C-Final in 1:58.91.

200 Fly

After finishing second last year, NC State’s Christian McCurdy won the event tonight in 1:41.42. The senior broke the ACC meet and conference record of 1:41.66 set in 2015, and his time was also a new pool record.

1. Christian McCurdy (1:41.42), NC State
2. Zach Harting (1:42.95), Louisville
3. Ben Colley (1:43.55), North Carolina

Virginia Tech’s Norbert Szabo won the B-Final in 1:44.32 and Duke’s Michael Miller dominated the C-Final in 1:44.44.

400 Free Relay

NC State’s Bilis (41.76), Held (41.63), Joseph Bonk (42.69), and Dahl (42.45) dominated the final event of the weekend in 2:48.52. Their time broke the meet and pool record and was the fourth Wolfpack relay win of the weekend.

Notre Dame’s Justin Plaschka (43.05), Daniel Speers (42.59), Tabahn Afrik (43.09), and Reed Fujan (43.45) took second in 2:52.18, and North Carolina’s Sam Lewis (43.28), Logan Heck (42.96), Nicolas Graesser (43.43), and Ben Colley (43.45) finished third in 2:53.12.

Team Scores

1. NC State-1402
2. Louisville-1067.5
3. North Carolina-897.5
4. Virginia Tech-892
5. Georgia Tech-776
6. Virginia-737
7. Notre Dame-678
8. Duke-643
9. Florida State-606
10. Pitt-345
11. Boston College-192
12. Miami-92

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Dik Bud
8 years ago

Swimming smoothly with less waves on the water’s surface, thats cool 🙂

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x