Grace Ariola Takes Two Golds On Final Day of Pleasant Prairie Sectionals

Photo Courtesy: Donna Nelson

By Delaney Lanker, Swimming World College Intern

The 2016 Pleasant Prairie Speedo Sectionals concluded this evening. The men’s and women’s 1500 freestyle, 200 back, 100 free and 200 butterfly were swam.

Barrington Swim Club’s Kristen Jacobson won the women’s 1500 freestyle with the time of 16:58.03. In second place was her teammate, Magdalena Emary who went a 17:06.59 and in third was Waves Bloomington’s Melissa Pish with a 17:24.20.

Max Gatzke of Waukesha Express Swim Team took gold in the men’s 1500 free with a 16:32.18. Barrington Swim Club’s Mitchell Gavars came in with a 16:44.56 for the silver and Bryan Fitzgerald of West Bend Swim Club came in third place with a 16:59.18.

In the 200 backstroke, Grace Ariola of Waves Bloomington won the event. She went a 2:12.72 which is an Olympic trials qualifying time. Iowa Flyer’s Ruby Martin came in second place with a 2:16.94, just shy of a trials cut, and in third place was Dunlap Dolphins’ Emma Theobald (2:17.23).

Glenview Titan Aquatic Club’s Sam Iida went a 2:06.27 for the gold medal in the men’s 200 backstroke. Nicholas Saulnier of the Iowa Flyers was second in the time of 2:07.01 and Tyler Hines, unattached, finished third with a 2:08.89.

For her second win of the night, Ariola of Waves Bloomington, went a 56.74 in the women’s 100 freestyle. Blackline Aquatic’s Abigail Dolan took the silver in the time of 57.48 and Sarah Schemmel of Piranhas Swim Club went a 58.46 for the bronze.

In the men’s 100 free, Jordan Huff of DASH won the event with a 51.73. Coho Swim Club’s Christopher Kearney went a 52.66 for second place and in third with a 53.22 of the Iowa Flyers was Aidan Keen.

The top two finishers in the women’s 200 fly qualified for Olympic trials. Hannah Saiz of Schroeder YMCA swam to the gold in the time of 2:12.86. For her second silver of the night Martin of the Iowa Flyers went a 2:13.99 in the event. In third place was Kelsey Drake of the Linn-Mar Swim Team touching in at a 2:18.82.

Sam Salganik of Glenview Titan Aquatic Club won the men’s 200 butterfly in a 2:09.40. Right behind him was Colin O’Learly of Barrington Swim Club with a 2:09.63. Going a 2:10.15 for third place was Phoenix Aquatic’s Joseph Turk.

Full results available on Meet Mobile.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Tony Ariola
8 years ago

Adam Ariola

Tony Ariola
8 years ago

Renee Ariola

Jill Ariola
8 years ago

Kathy Schroeder

Tom Schroeder
8 years ago


Would love your thoughts, please comment.x