Florida State Tracks Down ACC Record in Night One

GREENSBORO, North Carolina, February 27. THE first night of the Atlantic Coast Conference Men's Championships kicked off with a meet record by the Seminoles in Greensboro, N.C. After the first night, Florida State held a slim lead over Virginia.

FSU's Pavel Sankovich (20.99), Jared Pike (24.62), Mark Weber (20.33) and Paul Murray (18.90) raced to a sterling 1:24.84 in the 200-yard medley relay. That swim smashed the 2009 mark of 1:26.00 set by Georgia Tech. It also bested the conference record of 1:25.98 set by Duke in 2012. Virginia Tech's Zach McGinnis (21.71), Nathan Hoisington (24.09), Greg Mahon (20.48) and Joseph Bonk (19.32) ripped off a second-place 1:25.60, also under the previous meet and conference records. North Carolina's Nic Graesser (21.54), Kurt Wohlrab (24.54), Sam Lewis (20.81) and Kyle Ficker (19.30) rounded out the top three with a 1:26.19 with all the top finishers beating the NCAA A cut time.

After N.C. State drew a disqualification in the men's 800 free relay due to entering the water without permission, Virginia's Nick Alexiou (1:34.80), Tom Barrett (1:34.44),David Ingraham (1:36.39) and Parker Camp (1:34.63) won the event in 6:20.26. N.C. State had won the race, but one of its swimmers jumped into the water in celebration before all teams had finished.

North Carolina's JT Stilley (1:35.42), Brad Dillon (1:35.38), Tom Luchsinger (1:34.03) and Brett Nagle (1:37.64) placed second in 6:22.47 with the top two teams both clearing the NCAA A cut. Virginia Tech's Morgan Latimer (1:36.46), Owen Burns (1:37.09), Nick Tremols (1:36.52) and Lucas Bureau (1:36.73) earned third-place honors in 6:26.80.

Team Scores
Florida State 70
Virginia 68
Virginia Tech 66
North Carolina 66
Georgia Tech 54
Boston College 48
N.C. State 30
Duke 24