Florida Southern Men And Women Take Sunshine State Championships Title

Florida Southern
Photo Courtesy: Sunshine State Conference

By Delaney Lanker, Swimming World College Intern

The Sunshine State Conference Championships concluded this evening. The finals of the men’s and women’s 1650 free, 100 free, 200 backstroke, 200 breastroke and 400 free relay were swam. Florida Southern men and women took the 2016 Championship title. This is the fourth consecutive win for the men’s team and the first title for the women.

Lynn’s Catalina Galea won took gold in the women’s 1650 free, coming in at a 16:56.61. Makayla Ayers of Tampa came in second place (17:09.44) and Florida Southern’s Heather Burns took the bronze with the time of 17:11.05.

Daniel Bis from St. Leo went a 15:28.08 to win the men’s 1650 freestyle. Nova Southeastern’s Blake Woodrow came in second place with a 15:33.69 and Florida Tech’s Ferruccio Rossi came in third place (15:37.07).

In the women’s 100 free Florida Southern’s Kelsey Gouge won the event with a 50.73. Natalia Garriock of St. Leo went a 51.02 for the silver and Nova Southeastern’s Jordan Shows took bronze with a 51.28.

Thiago Sickert of Nova Southeastern, went a 443.79 in the men’s 100 free for the gold. Matheus Assis of St. Leo came in second place with a 44.12 and Tampa’s Martin Hammer touched in at a 44.32 for third place.

Nova Southeastern’s Emma Wahlstrom won the women’s 200 back with a 2:01.31. Her teammate Courtney DeVeny was right behind her going a 2:01.37 for a close second place and St. Leo’s Maftuna Tuhtasinova went a 2:02.01 for third place on the podium.

In the men’s 200 backstroke, Marco Palacios from Florida Southern took the gold with a 1:45.10. Nova Southeastern’s Marco Aldabe touched the wall at 1:46.89 for silver and Florida Southern’s Evan Coleman took the bronze with a 1:48.47.

Lynn’s Rebecca Matthews won the women’s 200 breaststroke with a 2:14.61. Nicole Weber of St. Leo came in second place with a 2:15.43 and Malin Westman from Nova Southeastern took third (2:16.88).

Anton Lobanov of Nova Southeastern won the men’s 200 breast finishing with a 1:55.06.  Florida Southern took silver and bronze with Luis Jasso (1:57.45) and Sean Kim (1:58.86).

Florida Southern’s women won the 400 free relay. Their team of Gouge (50.98), Rebeka Dics (51.47), Brittany Aubley (52.29) and Alli Crenshaw (50.91) took the gold in the time of 3:25.65. Nova Southeastern came in second place (2:26.30) with Wahlstrom (51.63), Sydney Panzarino (52.10), Caroline Oster (51.98) and Shows (50.59). Sophie Long (52.34), Marisa Barton (51.33), Courtney Markle (52.41) and Amanda Nielson-Fernandes (52.26) went a2:28.34 for Tampa’s third place.

Tampa’s men won the 400 free relay in the time of 2:56.84 and the team of Hammer (44.77), Jordan Augier (43.85), Khalid Aldaboos (44.24) and Jeremy Parker (43.98). Florida Tech took the silver (2:57.92) with Nir Barnea (44.86), Filip Dujmic (44.14), Victor Rocha Furtado (44.09) and Thomas Steenberg (44.83). Right behind was St. Leo for a close third (2:57.97) with their squad of Pawl Trenda (44.90), Assis (43.43), Evan Jacob (45.57) and Hunter Bains (44.07).

Full finals results here

Men Team Scores

1.Florida Southern 792.5
2.Nova Southeastern 743.5
3.Tampa 722.5
4.Florida Tech 451
5.Saint Leo 467.5
6.Rollins 191

Women Team Scores

1.Florida Southern 893.5
2.Nova Southeastern 767
3.Tampa 598.5
4.Lynn 426
5.Saint Leo 421
6.Florida Tech 259
7.Rollins 224

1 comment

  1. Nekdoodle

    Way to go Sunshine State Conference Champs!