Florida Southern Leads After Day 3 Of SSC Championships

Florida Southern
Photo Courtesy: Sunshine State Conference

By Delaney Lanker, Swimming World College Intern

The Sunshine State Conference day three finals were competed tonight. The men’s and women’s 500 free, 100 back, 100 breast, 200 butterfly and 800 free relay were swam.

In the women’s 500 freestyle, Alli Crenshaw of Florida Southern, won with a 4:57.99. Nova Southeastren’s Georgina Allin and Tampa’s Makayla Ayers tied for second place tonight with a 4:59.42. Right behind them was Lynn’s Thalie Carmigniani with a 4:49.57.

St. Leo’s Daniel Bis won the men’s 500 free tonight with a 4:26.42. Blake Woodrow of Nova Southeastern went a 4:29.57 for the silver and Florida Southern’s Jesus Marin came in third place with a 4:30.30.

Lauren Reynolds from Florida Southern won the women’s 100 backstroke with the time of 56.06. Nova Southeastern’s Emma Wahlstrom touched the wall in a 56.13 for second place and Florida Tech’s Dar Raz came in for the bronze with a 56.34.

In the men’s 100 back, Florida Southern’s Marco Palacios won the event in the time of 47.30. St. Leo’s Pawel Trenda finished in second place with a 47.97 and Diego Gimenez from Florida Southern, went a 47.99 for the bronze.

Rebecca Matthews of Lynn added another first place to her list of wins with the women’s 100 breaststroke.  She won the event with a 1:02.39. Malin Westman of Nova went a 1:02.67 for silver and and Florida Southern’s Haley Degrace took bronze with a 1:03.34.

Anton Lobanov of Nova Southeastern bested his morning time in the men’s 100 breast and took gold with a 52.65. Florida Southern came in with the second and third place sports in the podium. Sean Kim went a 53.52 for silver and Luis Jasso took bronze (54.55).

Tampa’s Victoria Horsman went a 2:04.42 in the 200 butterfly and took first place tonight. Nova Southeastern’s Courtney DeVeny finished in the time of 2:06.02 for second place and Sophie Long of Tampa came in third place with a 2:06.97.

In the men’s 200 butterfly, Thiago Sickert of Nova Southeastern won the event touching in at a 1:46.05. Florida Southern took second and third place tonight. Raul Garrastazu came in with a 1:48.25 for silver and right behind was teammate Antonio Nunez went a 1:48.79 for bronze.

Florida Southern won the women’s 800 free relay tonight. Their team of Kelsey Gouge (1:53.12), Crenshaw (1:51.49), Peyton Breault (1:52.44) and Rebeka Dics (1:53.55) took the gold in the time of 7:30.60. Wahlstrom (1:51.73), Westman (1:53.77), Brooke Munion (1:53.31) and Allin (1:53.99) from Nova Southeastern took silver in a 7:32.80. Tampa came in third place (7:36.85) with Long (1:53.07), Makayla Ayers (1:55.00), Allison Chandler (1:54.48) and Britt Bayes (1:54.30).

Nova Southeastern men won the 800 free relay in the time of 6:33.41 with their squad of Marco Aldabe (1:39.24), Woodrow (1:41.07), Sickert (1:35.69) and Tarin (1:37.41). In the race for second place, Tampa’s team of Runar Borgen (1:40.00), Jeremy Parker (1:37.33), Forrest Lundy (1:38.32) and Martin Hammer (1:39.76) out touched Florida Southern with a 6:35.41. With a 6:35.75 Marin (1:37.69), Nico Campbell (1:39.24), Antonio Nunez (1:39.09) and Matthew Homes (1:39.73) came in third place for Florida Southern.

Men Team Scores

1.Florida Southern 594.5
2.Nova Southeastern 560.5
3.Tampa 495.5
4.Florida Tech 430
5.Saint Leo 355.5
6.Rollins 146

Women Team Scores

1.Florida Southern 666.5
2.Nova Southeastern 564
3.Tampa 441.5
4.Lynn 340
5.Saint Leo 315
6.Florida Tech 194
7.Rollins 117

Share and Tweet This Story
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial