Duke’s Nick McCrory With Third Tower Diving Title

Editorial coverage sponsored by SpeedoUSA

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, March 30. AFTER taking an Olympic redshirt last year, Duke's Nick McCrory started where he left off by clinching his third platform diving title at the NCAA Division I Men's Championships.

McCrory lit up the finale with 495.90 points. That gave him his third win, going along with his freshman (2010) and sophomore (2011) year wins. McCrory is now tied with Tyce Routson of Miami as the only divers to ever win the platform three times, with a chance to put up a career sweep next year. Routson won in 1995, 1997 and 2000.

Stanford's Kristian Ipsen, the one-meter and three-meter diving winner, took second with 452.90 points, while Indiana's Conor Murphy sent out Indiana's legendary diving coach Dr. Jeff Huber with a third-place 422.15. Huber has retired from coaching, and will remain a teacher at Indiana University after a lengthy career replacing fellow legend Hobie Billingsley at IU.

Kentucky's Greg Ferruci (418.30), Texas' Will Chandler (400.25), Arizona's Rafael Quintero (387.20), Missouri's David Bonuchi (362.20) and Virginia Tech's Ryan Hawkins (352.85) also vied for the NCAA title in the finals.

Michigan (446), California (388.5), Arizona (291.5), Texas (262) and Florida (261.5) rounded out the top five in the team race heading into the final race of the meet.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x