Dave Durden Recognized as ASCA Coach of the Year

Dave Durden -- Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Dave Durden Recognized as ASCA Coach of the Year

At the American Swim Coaches Association convention last week in Dallas, the organization recognized Cal head coach Dave Durden as Coach of the Year in recognition of his accomplishments on the college level and international level. Durden led the Cal men to a sixth national title during his 16-year tenure (a stretch which includes seven runnerup finishes) while also assuming leadership of the Cal women’s program for the first time just over one year ago.

Then, on the international level, Durden’s athletes again comprised a significant portion of Team USA at the World Championships in Fukuoka, Japan. Ryan Murphy captured the first world title of his career in the 100 backstroke while also winning 200 back silver and leading the U.S. men’s 400 medley relay to gold, while Jack Alexy and Dare Rose each won individual medals and relay gold in their first appearances at a major meet for Team USA. Abbey Weitzeil also had a resurgent campaign in her first year training with Durden while Destin Lasco broke through internationally for the first time.

Durden was honored by ASCA amid a field of finalists that included Virginia head coach Todd DeSorbo, Indiana head coach Ray Looze, Florida head coach Anthony Nesty and a dual bid between Arizona State coaches Bob Bowman and Herbie Behm.

In addition to Durden, Rod Hanson of Irvine Novaquatics was recognized as the Age Group Coach of the Year while Andre Morton of Rhythm & Stroke LLC won the ASCA Impact Coach of the Year Award. Meanwhile, NC State associate head coach Mark Bernardino and Quest Swimming’s Dudley Duncan were the inductees into the ASCA Hall of Fame.

Behm was elected to a position on the ASCA Board of Directors along with Paul Donovan of the Jersey Wahoos, Mike Murray of Victor Swim Club, Mackenzie Norvell of Fort Collins Area Swim Team and Megan Oesting of Bend Swim Club. Murray was elected ASCA President, with Oesting as Vice President, Ellen Johnston as Secretary and Mohamed Abdelaal as Secretary.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Kevin McHaney
Kevin McHaney
8 months ago

Congrats to Dudley and Mark. Those are well-deserved lifetime achievements!!!

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x