Austin Speedo Sectionals, Night 4: 400 Meter Distance Dynamos Take Double Titles

Photo Courtesy: Andy Ringgold/Aringo Photos

It was a fast fourth and final night of swimming at the Southern Zone Speedo Sectional Series in Austin, Texas. The meet, which runs July 7 – 10, 2016 is a preliminary/final event hosted by Longhorn Aquatics.

The final session of the meet was capped by fast races in the distance events, with the titles in each sealed by previous 400 meter freestyle winners, Haley Yelle and Zachary Yeadon.

Women’s 200 Meter IM:

Three-time individual event champion Sydney Pickrem (AGS) picked up another title in the first event of the last finals session. Pickrem was off her 2:10.08 entry time, but still managed to beat the rest of the A-final field by nearly 7 seconds. Pikrem touched the wall first in a 2:14.73. Individual event winner Dakota Luther claimed second by a hair in a 2:21.34, just ahead of Jessica Sloan‘s 2:21.41. Also in the hunt for second was Hannah Feng, who touched fourth in a 2:21.59.

Men’s 200 Meter IM:

Duncan Lee (DM) maintained his top position by beating the rest of the A-final competition by over a second. Lee’s 2:08.61 winning time also cut two seconds from his 2:10.54 preliminary swim time. His teammate, Felix Van Cauwelaert, took second in a 2:09.98. Third went to Beau Fusilier (2:10.37), who touched just ahead of Grant Thompson (2:10.66).

Women’s 800 Meter Freestyle:

400 meter freestyle champion Haley Yelle (MAC) took another distance title tonight with an 8:55.23 winning time in the women’s 800. Since Yelle took the top position by nearly 10 seconds, the race was really for second. Two one-hundredths separated second and third position, with Ashlyn Fiorilli (TFA) taking the touch in a 9:04.97 after cutting nearly ten seconds from her 9:14.63 entry time. Third, in a 9:04.99, went to Ellery Parish (SASA). Several seconds behind Parish was Regan Barney (TXLA) in a 9:08.19 for fourth.

Men’s 1500 Meter Freestyle:

In additional double distance title news, last night’s men’s 400 meter freestyle winner Zachary Yeadon (AAAA) claimed the men’s 1500 meter freestyle title tonight. Yeadon cut an incredible 19.46 seconds from his entry time (16:03.66) for a an impressive 15:44.20 winning time. This places him five seconds beneath the US Open Cut (15:49.99), and also cemented the A-final win by 12 seconds. Second place went to Yeadon’s teammate Michael Calvillo. Calvillo cut nearly five seconds from his entry time to earn silver in the event in a 15:56.22. Third went to Samuel Brettmann, also from Alamo, in a 16:23.14, just ahead of fourth-place finished Clark Wakeland (LCA) who touched in a 16:23.88.

Women’s 50 Meter Freestyle:

Leah Troskot (LSU) claimed the top position in the splash and dash with a 26.09. She stole the race by over half a second, with Jordan Wheeler (ESA) taking second in a 26.66. Third went to 15-year-old Ella Collins (ASC) in a 26.82.

Men’s 50 Meter Freestyle:

Matthew Willenbring took an impressive seven tenths off his 24.35 entry time to claim the top spot in finals in a 23.65. Just missing the position by a touch was Joao Victor Mescolote (LSU), who instead took silver in a 23.67. Third went Andre Newlands (LCA) in a 23.93.

Women’s 400 Meter Medley Relay:

In a relay sweep, the Austin Swim Club’s team of Kendall Shields, Lillian Benwell, Dakota Luther and Diana Dunn, took the final relay title in the women’s 400 meter medley. The team was right on their 4:16.14 entry time with a 4:16.16 winning time. The Cypress Fairbanks Swim Club A-Team touched second about five seconds behind the winning team with a 4:21.83. North Texas Nadadores A-Team took third in a 4:25.94.

Men’s 400 Meter Medley Relay:

Lakeside Aquatic Club A-Team took the relay win in a 3:56.38. The combined efforts of Stephen Cheng, Tristen Disibio, Alvin Jiang and Alexander Zettle took the title by over two seconds. The North Texas Nadadores A-Team came in second at a 3:58.82, while the Power for Life A-Team came in third at a 4:00.55.