American Swimming Coaches Association Names Eddie Reese Coach of the Year

FORT LAUDERDALE, Florida, September 15. THE American Swimming Coaches Association (ASCA), at its annual Awards Dinner last Friday in Fort Lauderdale, Fla., named Eddie Reese its Coach of the Year.

Reese was cited for his 2009 work with men's backstroke World Record holder Aaron Peirsol, breaststroker Eric Shanteau and freestylers Garret Weber-Gale, David Walters and Ricky Berens.

It is the fifth time Reese has garnered the award, tying him for the most with current USA National Head Coach Mark Schubert.

Also at the awards dinner Craig Lord of was the recipient of the Media Award for his coverage this past year on suit-related issues.

Seven coaches were also inducted into the ASCA Hall of Fame: Ron Ballatore (UCLA), Bob Gillett (Arizona Desert Fox/Golden West), Peter Malone (Kansas City Blazers), Phil Moriarty (Yale), Jack Nelson (Fort Lauderdale Swim Team) and Richard Shoulberg (Germantown Academy).

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World Magazine. It has been posted in its entirety without editing. Swimming World offers all outlets the chance to reach our audience by contacting us at However, Swimming World reserves the right to choose what material is posted.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x