2016 MAC Championships: Day Two


By Courtney Bartholomew, Swimming World College Intern


Results can be found here: MAC Championship Central

Day Two of the 2016 MAC Championships featured the 500 Freestyle, the 200 IM, the 50 Freestyle, 1 Meter Diving, and the 200 Free Relay.


500 Freestyle

This event was taken by the seniors in this Conference. Senior Jess Powers of Buffalo took over four seconds off her prelim time from this morning to take the first individual win of the meet. This morning Powers swam a 4:52.20 and took the event in a 4:47.63, good enough to reach the NCAA B-Standard Cut. Taking second was Rebecca Detro of Eastern Michigan University. Detro cut almost three seconds off her time from prelims to finish in a 4:51.84. Rounding out the top three was another senior, Lauren Comer from the University of Toledo in a 4:53.16.

200 IM

Madison Myers, the freshman from the University of Akron won her first MAC Championship title tonight. Not only was the win impressive because Myers finished in a time of 1:58.98, but she also broke the meet record from 2013 held by Brittney Kuras of Buffalo in a 1:59.17. Second was Stephanie Lemire of Miami of Ohio in a 2:00.80 and third was Paloma Marrero from the University of Akron in a 2:01.06. All of the top four finishers in this event came in under the NCAA B-Standard cut time of 2:01.59.

50 Freestyle

Megan Burns, the sophomore from the University of Buffalo was the champion of the Women’s “splash and dash” tonight. She bettered her prelim time of a 22.46 during finals to finish in a 22.34. Second was Hannah Raspopovich, the senior from Akron, finishing in a time of 22.77. Third was Corrin Van Lanen, the freshman from Ohio University, who was just out-touched by Raspopovich in a 22.79. In this event six of the eight “A” finalists were under the NCAA B-Standard cut time of 22.99.

1 Meter Diving

Tonight’s champion in 1 meter diving was Pei Lin from Miami of Ohio. She just missed her meet record from 2015 of a 334.00, but ended finals with a score of 322.35. Second was Alice Hottensmith from Akron in a 299.50. Third was Haleigh Bartlett scoring a 298.25.

200 Freestyle Relay

The University of Akron went into the meet as the heavy favorites in this event and they did not disappoint. The team of Madison Myers, Ragen Engel, Hannah Raspopovich and Sadie Fazekas combined to win with a meet record time of 1:30.06. Second was Buffalo in a 1:30.64 and third was Eastern Michigan in a time of 1:31.60.

Team Scores through Day Two

1. Akron – 315.50 points
2. Buffalo – 198 points
3. Eastern Michigan – 197.50 points
4. Bowling Green – 160 points
5. Miami – 147 points
6. Ohio – 130 points
7. Toledo – 108 points
8. Ball State – 72 points

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Malcolm Fisher
8 years ago

Great venue.

Malcolm Fisher
8 years ago

Go Falcons.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x