2016 Junior Nationals: Day 4 Finals Live Recap

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. BickPhoto Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Everything you need to follow along with day four finals of the 2016 Speedo Junior National Championships.

Schedule of Events:

  • Women’s 200 free
  • Men’s 200 free
  • Women’s 200 breast
  • Men’s 200 breast
  • Women’s 100 back
  • Men’s 100 back
  • Women 4×200 free relay

Hit refresh to see the latest results

Women’s 200 Free:

Kicking off the night, we had the women’s 200 free.  After finishing first this morning, Morgan Tankersley of Greater Tampa was first again tonight.  She dropped two seconds from this morning to win the event with a best time of 1:59.54.  Miranda Heckman of the Pleasanton Seahawks finished second tonight also with a best time of 2:00.80.

In a close race for third, Taylor Ault of La Mirada Armada just out touched Melissa Pish of Waves Bloomington.  Ault and Pish went 2:00.94 and 2:00.97 respectively.  Taking fifth place tonight, Emma Nordin of Carmel Swim Club touched at 2:01.41.

Dakota Luther (2:01.58) of Austin Swim Club finished sixth, Morgan Scott (2:01.67) of Central Bucks was seventh and Regan Smith (2:01.98) of Riptide Swim Team finished eighth in the A final tonight.

Men’s 200 Free:

Drew Kibler of Carmel Swim Club had an incredible race, winning the event in 1:49.93, a second ahead of Fynn Minuth who touched at 1:50.92 – both finishing with best times tonight.  In a close race for third, Cody Bybee of the Dayton Raiders out touched Patrick Callan of the Trident Aquatics.  Bybee finished at 1:51.15 while Callan touched at 1:51.26.

Finishing fifth in the A final tonight, Jake Sannem of Upper Dublin Aquatics clocked in a best time of 1:51.43, while Jack Levant touched sixth at 1:51.70, also a best time.

Rounding out the A final tonight, Levente Bathory (1:52.19) of Enfinity Aquatics was seventh and Sam Schilling (1:52.27) of the Aquajets was eighth.

Women’s 200 Breast:

Crushing the A final tonight, Zoe Bartel of Fort Collins finished first just off her best time at 2:28.33.  Rachel Ramey of Texas Ford Aquatics finished second tonight behind Bartel with a best time of 2:30.43.

Once again, Bartel and Ramey were well ahead of the rest of the field, but it was a tight race for third.  Olivia Calegan out touched Kaki Christensen of Chelsea Pier Aquatics, the two both coming from the outer sides of the pool.  Calegan finished at 2:33.09 while Christensen touched at 2:33.33.

Fifth and sixth finalists tonight were Halle Morris of North Bay Aquatics who finished at 2:34.09 and Kelsey Lloyd of Brea Aquatics who touched at 2:35.27.

Bailey Kovac (2:35.97) of Fort Collins was seventh and Nicole Williams (2:36.27) Columbia Swim Club was eighth.

Men’s 200 Breast:

With another huge drop from his preliminary time, Michael Andrew of Race Pace Club touched first at a 2:13.90.  AJ Bornstein of Ridgefield Aquatics then finished second with a 2:14.60 also a best time.  The two were well ahead of the rest of the field.

Mason Manta Rays Jake Foster was third at 2:16.78 while Brennan Pastorek of King Aquatics, finished third with a time of 2:18.14.

Ethan Dang (2:18.66), the youngest member of field of King Aquatics was fifth, Tommy Cope of the Dayton Raiders touched at 2:19.77 and Lyon Zhang of Pleasanton Seahawks finished seventh at 2:21.96.

Devon Nowicki of Aqua Swim Club was disqualified.

Women’s 100 Back:

Once again Lucie Nordmann of Magnolia Aquatics won the backstroke event of the night.  After winning the 200 back two nights ago, Nordmann won the 100 tonight in a best time of 1:00.16.  Finishing second again in the backstroke, Regan Smith of Riptide Swim team touched in a best time of 1:00.50.

Grace Ariola improved her time from the prelims, finishing third overall at 1:01.60.  After the top three, Callie Dickinson of Tide Swimming clocked in a best time tonight to finish fourth at 1:02.22.

In fifth place tonight, Katharine Berkoff of Missoula Aquatics touched at 1:02.52 just ahead of Bayley Stewart of Fort Collins who was sixth at 1:02.54.

Marcie McGuire (1:02.94) of Ridgefield Aquatics was seventh and Tevyn Waddell (1:03.16) of Mitchell Aquatics was eighth.

Men’s 100 Back:

Winning his second event of the night, Michael Andrew of Race Pace Club touched first at 55.46 improving from his preliminary time.  Andrew touched just five hundredths ahead of Alessa Boratto of Upper Dublin Aquatics Club who finished second at 55.51.

Clark Beach of Quest Swimming was third at 55.96, a best time, while Thomas Anderson of King Aquatics was fourth at 56.42.

Josh Artmann of Austin Swim Club touched fifth just off his best at 56.78.  Finishing sixth tonight, John Whiteside clocked in another best time today with at 57.01.  Kyle Maas (57.61) of Michigan Lakeshore and Noah Henry (58.25) of the Tigersharks were seventh and eighth in the A final.

Women’s 4×200 Free Relay:

For the last event of the night it was an exciting race in the women’s 4×200 free relay.  In the outside lane, Carmel Swim Club crushed the final heat, posting a time of 8:12.67.  Finishing second behind Carmel was the Austin Swim Club who touched at 8:17.37, a little off their entry seed.  And finishing third in tonight’s final heat of the women’s 4×200 free relay was Magnolia Aquatic Club who touched at 8:20.17 to improve their entry time.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x