Final Day Of NSISC Championships Begin

New South Conference
Photo Courtesy: Delta State Athletics

By Delaney Lanker, Swimming World College Intern 

The final day of the New South Intercollegiate Swim Conference Championships began this morning. The men’s and women’s 100 IM, 100 free, 200 back and 200 breast. This is the first year the 100 IM had been a part of the NSISC lineup.

In the women’s 100 IM Theresa Michalak of West Florida touched the wall first this morning with a 55.66. Minnesota State Mankato took the second and third fastest times this morning with Cheyenne Rova going a 58.84 and her teammate Taylor Bass two one hundreds behind with a 58.86.

OUAC’s Artemii Orekhov has the fastest time of the morning in the men’s 100 IM with a 51.03. Delta came in second and third place with Fabrice Wendel going a 51.64 and Max Pendall touching in at 51.91.

Peggy de Villers of West Florida came in with a 51.72 in the 100 free to be seeded first going into finals. Delta’s Chloe Bennett finished second this morning with a 51.86 and her teammate Celina Batsel finished third with a 52.10.

In the men’s 100 free, Delta had the top two fastest times of the morning. Mattia Schirru touched first with a 45.52 and teammate Dylon Johnson finished close behind with a 45.62. Henderson’s Colton Laramore came in third this morning with a 46.06.

Delta’s Kiersten Page came in first this morning with a 2:01.68 in the women’s 200 back. Lindsay Butler of Henderson touched right behind Page with a 2:01.78 for the second seed tonight and Delta’s Anastasia Klyarovskaya went a 2:01.92 for third this morning.

Cody Lavoie of Delta finished first in the men’s 200 back this morning with a 1:50.31. OUAC’s Alexander Poguzov is seeded second tonight with a 1:50.47 and his teammate David Wray came in third this morning with a 1:50.89.

In the women’s 200 breast, Kirsten Stroven of Delta has the quickest 200 breast of the morning with a 2:17.26. West Florida’s Paulina Szydlo was a close second with a 2:17.66 and Henderson’s Camille Leary touched third (2:23.19).

100 breaststroke winner, Justin Winnett of St. Cloud, put up the top time in the men’s 200 breast this morning with a 2:01.44. Garrett Duncan came in second (2:02.41) for Henderson and Delta’s Matteo Fraschi came in third (2:03.25).

The men’s and women’s 1650 freestyle will be swam as a finals only event.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x