Chris Neaveill Breaks Away In Summit League Championship Prelims on Day Three

Photo Courtesy: Western Illinois Athletics

By Kaylie Noll, Swimming World College Intern

The Summit League’s third day began this morning in Indianapolis with the 400 IM, 100 fly, 200 free, 100 breast, and 100 back prelims. The men’s one meter diving prelims are ongoing.

One of many impressive swims in prelims was former league MVP Chris Neaveill of Western Illinois domination of the men’s 100 fly, winning handily with a NCAA B time standard of 47.46. He is tenths off of the league championship record set in 2009 by Oakland’s Anders Jensen. The University of Denver’s Patrick Guillory slid into second, touching at 49.39, but his seed time coming into this weekend is only three hundredths off of the record. Meanwhile, Guillory’s teammate Ben Ussery is in third with a time of 49.48.

University of Denver’s Maddie Myers began the morning session earning a first place seed in the 400 yard individual medley for tonight’s finals, as well as breaking her own Summit League championship record from last year. Teammates Bailey Andison and Clara Jenck rounded out the top three with times of 4:15.04 and 4:21.94, respectively. Both Myers and Andison met NCAA B standards.

For the men’s 400 IM, it was Kyle Ewoldt and Lane Bretschneider from Denver going one-two with a NCAA B cut of 3:53.65 for Ewoldt and a time of 3:55.89 for Bretschneider. Western Illinois University has Matt Abercrombie setting himself up for third going into finals, touching at 3:58.92.

The women’s 100 yard butterfly was led by Heidi Bradley from Denver, touching the wall first with a NCAA B time standard of 54.16. Bradley is the sole swimmer in this event from Denver, opening the doors for immense opportunity from competing teams. IUPUI snatched up this opportunity in the forms of Maranda Buha and Alexis Bullard, who are seeded second and third going into this evening’s A final. Buha finished with a time of 54.95, while Bullard swam to a 55.85.

The women’s top three swimmer in the 200 yard freestyle all represent Denver. Morgan Mullenix leads the way with a time of 1:49.40, dropping almost four seconds from her seed time. Zoe Huddleston sits in second with her 1:50.48, and Morgan Wice-Roslin is set up for third with a time of 1:50.83.

The men’s 200 free looks similar, with the top spots taken by Denver. Ray Bornman, current league championship record holder in the event, touched the wall with a NCAA B cut of 1:35.70. Luke Williams was also under the time standard with his 1:37.75. Distance king Dylan Bunch takes third going into the A final tonight, finishing at 1:38.17.

The women’s 100 breast was won in the morning by Denver’s Amanda Sanders, who broke her own league championship record by about four tenths. Her time of 1:00.48 is also a NCAA B standard time by two seconds. Kristin Erf, representing South Dakota State University, holds second place, finishing with a time of 1:03.07. Not far behind Erf is another University of Denver swimmer, Maddie Eyolfson, with her time of 1:03.61.

The 100 yard breaststroke for the men was led by the league championship record holder in the event, Denver’s Tim Cottam, with a time of 53.59. Looking for silver tonight will be teammate Guillory and his time of 55.41, coming off of his 100 fly earlier where he also is seated second going into finals. IUPUI lands Jonathan Stoller in the top three, racing to a time of 55.52.

In the women’s 100 yard backstroke, Denver’s Johanna Roas swam into an easy first with a NCAA B cut of 53.17. Roas’s seed time is under the league championship record, 52.75, so she will be looking to break that tonight. Teammate Morgan McCormick also swam a NCAA B time standard, touching the wall at 54.11. Holding on to third is Bullard, representing IUPUI with her 55.52.

On the men’s side, the 100 back was won by Anton Loncar from the University of Denver, swimming 46.86. Placing second going into tonight is teammate Kyle Robrock, touching at 47.43. Both men made the NCAA B standard, while Loncar is a little over two tenths off the league championship record. Continuing his great morning is Neaveill of Western Illinois, back for more in the backstroke with a time of 48.77 to finish third, dropping two seconds from his eighth place seed time.

The Summit League Swimming and Diving Championships will continue this evening for finals.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x