Siobhan Haughey, Hong Kong Olympian, Signs With Arena

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Siobhan Haughey announced she has signed with Arena on Monday.

The University of Michigan graduate and Hong Kong Olympian made the announcement on social media.


Haughey made the 2016 Olympics in Rio and has already qualified for both the 2019 World Championships and 2020 Olympics.

Earlier this year, and the Hong Kong championships, she swam the 100 free in 53.38 and the 200 free in 1:57.51 during prelims, qualifying for Worlds and the Olympics in both events. After the whirlwind of travel, she skipped the finals.

Since then, Siobhan Haughey has set several Hong Kong national records.

Haughey is also one of the most decorated swimmers in Michigan history. She earned the Big Ten Medal of Honor in April.

Haughey played a huge part in the women’s swimming and diving program’s resurgence over the last few years, helping the Wolverines win three consecutive Big Ten titles from 2016-18 and record back-to-back top-four finishes at the NCAA Championships in 2018-19.

During her four-year career, Haughey was a 14-time CSCAA All-American, 11-time CSCAA All-America Honorable Mention and 15-time Big Ten champion, establishing herself among the program’s all-time greats.

Siobhan Haughey was national runner-up in the 200-yard freestyle as a junior, and currently holds the seventh-fastest time in history in that event (1:40.69).

She holds 10 school records (six individual, four on relays), including the short course (yards) and long course (meters) records in the 100 Freestyle, 200 Freestyle and 200 Individual Medley.

Haughey represents Hong Kong internationally, reaching the semifinals of the 200-meter freestyle at the 2016 Olympics in Rio and finaling in the same event at the 2017 World Championships.

Academically, Siobhan Haughey was a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and will soon be a three-time CSCAA Scholar All-American. She was also a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar in 2018 and will continue her career at least through 2020.